The league was established in 1958 as an organization formed to provide a program for the youth of the Pleasant Hill area in cooperation with the Pleasant Hill Recreation and Park District, the Mt. Diablo Unified School District and Diablo Valley College.


Official PHBA Rules


2020 Edition

Umpire Leadership Team

Chief Umpire Ray Wrice
ULT Administrator Diane Basker
Chris Baker Rick Landry
Brian Turner Brian Lee
Sumit Mahay Victor UmaƱa
Raul Ortega Jim Libby


Head Commissioner Oliver Greenwood
Keith Pelton Bruce Cannon
Peddy Khatami Michele Sears Rose
John McCormick Ryan Fitch
Josh Muldau Gary Chang


  • Final decisions on rules interpretations, violations and consequences are in the purview of the Head Commissioner, League Commissioners, Chief Umpire and Umpire Crew Chiefs for each Division.


  • Rules specific to a division are noted at the beginning of the rule with the following abbreviations
    • BP - Boys Pioneer
    • BA - Boys American
    • BN - Boys National
    • BW - Boys Western


  • To maintain continuity with the PHBA 2019 Softball Rules, Section 1.03 and 2.04 have been deliberately left out of these rules.